Beholder Logo Round
Beholder Sphere

VII. The Chariot

Early Chariot Sketch

Purpose, Direction and Dharma

By embodying this archetype I am more tuned in with my purpose, direction, ethics, presence, and refining a spiritual mission to be on.

Transforming Love Into Presence

Transforming the Presence of Love Into Specific Action

The previous archetype is "The Lovers". This is a wonderful place to come from, as well as a solid foundation to build upon. How you do anything is how you do everything, so it starts with the present moment. Your presence conveys a lot about how you're feeling and doing. From that powerful energy of love and acceptance, it's time to add meaning and use that energy to create something or work towards something bigger than myself.

Authentically Define Values and Stand Up For Them

When I am at a social gatherings for networking or with friends and family, I will stand in my values. What I talk about and do are directly influenced by these values. They are an authentic aspect of myself. People will be able to connect with me more deeply socially and spiritually. Values are valuable when defined.

Purpose, Direction and Darma

The chariot archetype could also be seen as a Crusader. A Crusader is defined as:

"a person who campaigns vigorously for political, social, or religious change; a campaigner."
Definitions from Oxford Languages

Behold Sketches

The Law of Dharma - Living your Life's Purpose

Defining a Mission Statement for your Spiritual Life

Why are you here? What are you doing? What is the motivation behind doing what you want to do?

This is an ideal archetype to make a mission statement or spiritual purpose statement. It will most likely be vague, but can then be used to take specific action. At time when it's not clear what action should be taken, coming back to review this statement will help give motivation and direction. If it does not help, then it needs to be contemplated and re-written.

My mission is to encourage and nurture awareness of myself and others then co-create uplifting encounters with curiosity and humor.

This involves first by learning how to connect inwardly to create clear priorities. If I don't know what that is, then I need time by myself to let my thoughts settle and find that answer. After I have my priorities lined up, then through my presence and participation I will encourage and tap into higher awareness. I will pay attention to what people say and do by listening fully, being curious, and making mental notes I can bring up with them the next opportunity. I will ask questions, share myself authentically and offer what is available to me to facilitate more meaningful interactions.

Doors of opportunity open briefly every day to take action on my mission statement. I will have to keep setting intention and be prepared to connect by occasionally being assertive as well as easy going.

The 7 Chakras are activated by the previous 7 archetypes.

By this time on the spiritual path, 6 of the 7 chakras have had attention on them through studying and embodying the previous archetypes. The Chariot is the 7th and activates the 5th Chakra in the Throat. This is the time to speak up in the world by declaring life purpose and influencing the world from a place of spiritual alignment.

I spent time contemplating how the 7 Chakras line up with the first 8 archetypes, and found that they do quite well, if you start on the 3rd eye with the Magician.

Chakras and the Archetypes

The fool isn't any particular chakra, as it's the conscious awareness which is the energy that travels through the chakras. The High priestess archetype has responsibility over 2 chakras as that archetype is connected with the heavens and is rooted in the Earth.

Alternatively, the Empress could be fully responsible for the root chakra, but I like it better this way, as it points out some unique qualities of the archetypes. The high priestess has special responsibility of uniting the crown chakra with the root while the Emperor and the Empress equally share the Sacral Chakra, because they represent 2 sides of the same kind of energy. 1 is Yin and the other is Yang and exist together in a unique way.

Only after all 7 chakras have been attended to sufficiently be in a holistic alignment with oneself is a person ready to focus on their life purpose. This is the ideal time to further define Dharma and take a bold move in an empowered direction. It is time to act righteously like a modern crusader.

Opportunity Cost And Saying No

When someone invites me to a social engagement or requests my help with something, I often feel a strong "Yes" right away. Only after evaluating it further do I realize what that "Yes" entails and the Opportunity Cost. Every activity and task I agree to is something I have to do instead of what I would have done if I didn't have to do it.

Glastonbury Tor SketchWork in Progress

I am still studying this archetype, so this entire page is a work in progress. More drawings and writings to come! Subscribe to my instagram to stay connected:

How You Do Anything
Is How You Do Everything

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram